The Olaf A. Hougen Professorship

Since 1979, the department has regularly invited distinguished members of the chemical engineering profession to Madison for extended stays as Hougen Visiting Professors. Over the years, these individuals have collaborated with faculty and student researchers, taught courses and presented public lectures in their areas of specialization, and developed texts, monographs, and other educational materials for a wider audience.

Hougen Visiting Professors:

2010 - Abraham M. Lenhoff, University of Delalaware
"Molecules, Particles, or Something Else:Proteins and Their Solution Thermodynamics" (Sept. 21, 2010)
"The Colburn Papers " (Nov. 2, 2010)

2009 - Lorenz T. Biegler, Carnegie Mellon University
"Advanced Nonlinear Programming Methods for Chemical Process Optimization" (Sept. 22, 2009)

2007 - Jens K. Nørskov, Technical University of Denmark
"A Molecular View of Heterogeneous Catalysis" (Sept. 18, 2007)
"The Role of Quantum Simulations in Materials Science and Discovery" (Oct. 23, 2007)

2006 - Alejandro D. Rey, McGill University
"Computational Materials Science of Liquid Crystals" (Sept. 26, 2006)
"Modeling Liquid Crystal Materials and processes in Biological Systems" (Nov. 21, 2006)

2004 - Eric S.G. Shaqfeh, Stanford University
"Progress and Prospects in Understanding Single Molecule Polymer Dynamics" (Jan. 22, 2004)
"Turbulent Drag Reduction Mechanisms by Fiber and Polymer Additives as Determined from Large Scale Simulation" (Mar. 4, 2004)

2002 - Yannis G. Kevrekidis, Princeton University
"Equation-Free Multiscale Computation: Enabling Microscopic Simulators to Perform System Level Tasks" (Sept. 12, 2002)
"Addressable Catalysts: Some Twists and Turns in the Path of Improving Surface Activity" (Oct. 3, 2002)

2000 - Bernhard O. Palsson, University of California, San Diego
"Where Has Biology Come To? A Glimpse into the World of Genomics" (Oct. 19, 2000)
"Cellular Part Catalogs; Reconstructing Biochemical Reaction Networks" (Oct. 26, 2000)
"Modeling Philosophy: of Single Points and Solution Spaces" (Nov. 2, 2000)
"Operating Systems of Genomes; Systemically Defined Pathways" (Nov. 8, 2000)
"Closing the Flux Cone: Imposition of Maximal Capacities" (Nov. 21, 2000)
"The Biological Design Variables: Kinetic and Regulatory Constraints" (Nov. 21, 2000)

1999 - Wolfgang Marquardt, RWTH Aachen, Germany
1998–99 - Harold H. Kung, Northwestern University
1997–98 - Alice P. Gast, Stanford University
1995–96 - David A. Tirrell, University of Massachusetts at Amherst
1993–94 - Milos A. Marek, Prague Institute of Chemical Technology
1992–93 - Keith E. Gubbins, Cornell University
1991–92 - Arthur S. Lodge, University of Wisconsin-Madison
1990–91 - Matthew Tirrell, University of Minnesota
1989–90 - Douglas A. Lauffenberger, University of Pennsylvania
1988 - R.T.K. Baker, Auburn University
1987 - L.K. Doraiswamy, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune, India
1986 - A. G. Fredrickson, University of Minnesota
1984–85 - Arthur W. Westerberg, Carnegie-Mellon University
1984 - William B. Russel, Princeton University
1980–81 - Robert C. Reid, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
1979 - Rutherford Aris, University of Minnesota